Lab Members

Terrie M. Williams, Principal Investigator

williams@biology.ucsc.edu

Terrie M. Williams, PhD is a comparative wildlife physiologist at the University of California- Santa Cruz. She is the Director of the Center for Marine Mammal Research and Conservation at UCSC. For the past 30 years her research has investigated the physiology of large mammalian predators. Specifically, Dr. Williams and students are trying to understand “how animals survive” in a world that is constantly changing. By examining the functional relationships between animals and their environment, these researchers hope to understand the ecological significance of a species and the physiological adaptive changes that may be necessary for its survival. Her publication credits include over 100 scientific articles a recent book, “The Odyssey of KP2” (Penguin Press) detailing her efforts to save the endangered Hawaiian monk seal.

 

 


GRADUATE STUDENTS

 

CalebBryceCaleb M. Bryce, PhD Candidate

Physiological ecology of canids

cbryce@ucsc.edu, Website

 

 

 

AnthonyPaganoAnthony Pagano, PhD Candidate

Ursid behavior, energetics, and conservation

ampagano@ucsc.edu, Website

 

 

 

 

Jason John, PhD Student

Physiology of diving in marine mammals

jsjohn@ucsc.edu, Website

 

 

 

 

 

Jessie KB

Jessica Kendall-Bar, PhD Student

Marine Mammal Neuroscience

jkb@ucsc.edu, Website

 

 


POSTDOCTORAL RESEARCHERS

 

NicoleThometzjpg

Nicole Thometz, Postdoctoral Researcher

Physiological ecology of marine vertebrates

nthometz@ucsc.edu, Website

 

 

 

JenMareshJen Maresh, Postdoctoral Researcher

Bioenergetics of foraging and locomotion in pinnipeds and cetaceans

jmaresh@ucsc.edu, Website

 

 

 

RobinDunkinRobin Dunkin, Postdoctoral Researcher

Biophysical ecology and conservation physiology of large vertebrates

rdunkin@ucsc.edu, Website

 

 

 


ASSOCIATE RESEARCH SCIENTISTS

 

NorenWalrus1

Shawn R. Noren, UCSC Institute of Marine Sciences

Comparative physiological ecology of vertebrates

snoren@ucsc.edu, CV

Comments are closed